A Dream Come True

January 2014. After the winter break, I was scheduled for a teaching demo via Skype at 4am (9am in Japan). I hadn’t slept yet and since it was a weekend, some of my housemates were still up. I couldn’t turn the lights on so I did the demo in the kitchen. We had a final interview shortly after and at noon that day, I received a job offer. The next one and a half months were spent processing my visa. I had my passport stamped before February ended and by the second week of March, I arrived in Japan.

My employer processed my husband’s visa as soon as I arrived and after 3 months, he came. He wasn’t as excited as I hoped he would be (of course he missed someone) and went back and forth from Japan to the Middle East, still unable to make up his mind. In October, the girl booked him a ticket for a flight back and that was when I gave him an ultimatum. I said that if he leaves again, I will make sure he won’t be able to come back anymore. He decided to stay.

The following month, he found a part-time job. Coincidentally, my boss had a business trip to my home country and allowed me to tag along so I could visit my kids. It was just for a few days but I had enough time to process my younger son’s passport.

My boss had been very supportive about moving our kids here. Last February, he processed their visas and they were scheduled to arrive in Japan a month later. My husband went home to get them. It was a busy month in school as we were preparing for our year-end recital so I couldn’t leave. It was hubby’s first time to see the boys in 3 years and he was about to spend grueling hours with them in a plane. I was worried.

They arrived safely in the late evening of March 21st. I thought it would never happen. I was complete. 🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. MyNinjaNaan
    Aug 07, 2015 @ 18:29:19

    Alhumdullilah, for everything ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

